A division of the Pacific Southwest Railway Museum Association, the museum's Campo Operations and Visitor's Facility is the center of its rolling stock collections. Here, these behemoths of an earlier era in transportation are preserved, restored and operated for the education and enjoyment of the public. Year-round, weekend, demonstration-train rides recreate that era and are operated over the roadbed of the San Diego & Arizona Railway, last coastal link in the trannscontinental railroad system to be completed, in 1919. Walking tours round out the period railway experience for the visitor. A gift shop in the original rural depot building offers snacks, books, souvenirs, and railroad memorabilia for sale.
Visit the Gaskill Brothers' Stone Store located in Campo, California, along State Highway 94 (built 1885). The Museum features exhibits on the history of the Mountain Empire Region of San Diego County's mountainous back country.
Museum Hours: 11:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (619) 478-5768 Address: P.O. Box 394
Campo, CA 91906
Admission: Adults: $2.00
The downstairs exhibit hall interprets the history of the store itself and the rural life of the area from prehistoric times through the early part of this century. The upstairs hall presents the unique history of the military in the region, including the significant role of Camp Lockett, the last horse cavalry post in the U.S. Army in the opening years of World War II.
The Society's book store offers publications and gifts of a historical nature. Researchers may also arrange appointments to use the MEHS's extensive back county archives.
The Motor Transport Museum's objective is to create a positive awareness and appreciation for old trucks and the development of the motor transport industry. The Museum provides a place for restoration and public display of antique trucks as well as photos, literature, memorabilia and other pertinent information relating to trucks, the trucking industry, and the pioneers who have made a significant contribution to the development and prosperity of California and the United States.
Museum Hours: All day each Saturday Telephone: (619) 478-2492 Address: 31949 Hwy 94
Campo, CA 91906
Admission: Donations accepted
This museum is housed in the historic Campo Feldspar Mill, built in 1929 to mill feldspar mined in nearby Hauser Canyon. The mineral was ground and processed here into porcelain which was used to manufacture sparkplugs and bathroom fixtures.
Campo (Milquatay) Valley is located 60 miles east of San Diego, one mile north of the U.S./Mexico International Border. The valley's location has given Campo an important and distinctive role in the history of the Alta and Baja Californias border.
First occupied by Native Americans, the valley began to experience American settlement in the 1860s. Since then, Campo has seen settler's wagons, stagecoaches, automobile travelers, truckers and railroad trains appear, establishing key east-west transportation routes, old U.S. 80, California 94 and the SD&A Railway. Early routes have crossed and some still do cross the International Border, bringing about government attempts to control the frontier crossings. Campo still retains some fine examples of a vanishing transportation heritage marking technological advancement in the border region through the development of pioneer trails, roads, highways and railroads.
* * *
The Border Californias Museum Association seeks to preserve this unique border heritage at Campo and wherever significant rements are still to be found in the border country.